Sioux Lookout Meno Ya Win Foundation :: About

About Us


The foundation was incorporated in 1994. Originally known as the Sioux Lookout District Health Foundation, the organization later changed its name to the Sioux Lookout Meno Ya Win Health Centre Foundation to reflect the amalgamation of the Sioux Lookout District Health Centre and the the Sioux Lookout Zone Hospital.

Our purpose is to raise moneys in order to provide funding for medical equipment, education, special treatment programs and building funds for the Sioux Lookout Meno Ya Win Health Centre. 

A Tradition of Caring… A Tradition of Sharing is more than just a motto. It defines us. It is what we do everyday with the ongoing support of our generous donors.

Since our inception, and with our donors support, we have raised more than $5 million to enhance health care in the north. Our greatest achievements include raising $2.5 million for the local share of the new hospital project, more than $1.79 million for the CT Scanner project, and more than $400,000 to ensure year round mammography services at the Sioux Lookout Meno Ya Win Health Centre.

Together we are making a difference and enhancing health care in the north!

Board of Directors

  • Terry Jewell, Chair
  • Anna Friesen, Vice-chair
  • Rita Demetzer, Treasurer


  • Catherine Beamish
  • Barbara Bowes
  • Tracey Bullock
  • Doug Lawrance
  • Tom Kamenawatamen
  • Ed Linkewich
  • Dr. Robert Minty
  • David Murray
  • Stanley Sainnawap
  • Douglas Semple